This’n’That Thursday – Pampered pets, foxes and farewell Stitch

Welcome to our first This’n’That Thursday, a blog hop being hosted by 2 Brown Dawgs for when you have little bit of this and a little bit of that to talk about. Click here to join it yourself.

I have trouble sleeping at night and when I am trying to ‘tire myself out’ I sit and read various online newspapers for weird and wonderful stories. The other night on the Daily Mail website I found an article about a man who was faced with a fox, in his bed no less.

Leon Smith felt what he thought was his cat snuggling up to his back and licking his neck. He turned around to clap it and to hug his girlfriend – who he thought was still in the bed – only to find it wasn’t his cat, or his girlfriend… it was a fox. Click to read.

article-2403942-1B7F7780000005DC-497_634x553

For my American friends the fox is the British raccoon. Some class them as pests, others class them as cute and cuddly and others class them as dangerous wild animals. I think they look good but at the end of the day they are wild animals, which makes them unpredictable, a predator and in many cases dangerous. I tell you though I would not be very calm if I woke up to an affectionate fox in my bed. What about you, what would you do?

Channel 5 launched a programme on Monday night showcasing the worlds most pampered pets. While I personally do not agree with dyeing your dogs hair or cutting it into silly shapes I cannot help but laugh at some of the other pictures. The lizard on the chaise is my favourite! But when reading some of the comments on the article it is obvious that the animal loving public is article-2403071-1B807521000005DC-144_634x485divided into two sides; those would rather a dog be dressed up and pampered than beaten and abused and those who believe dressing your dog up is abuse on the same level. I’m with the first group. If a dog is being taken to yoga, fed good food and sleeping in a luxury pet bed next to their devoted owner they are being cared for and not abused. I would rather every dog lived that life rather than be subjected to neglect and abuse. What side are you on? (Don’t worry I won’t judge you. Much)

And finally, it is with great sadness that I inform you of the passing of one of our oldest fans (by oldest I mean longest serving), Stitch of District Dog Designs, Vancouver, Canada.

Outwith friends and family Koolimut (Stitches owner) was the first person to follow this blog and for that I thank them and send out my deepest condolences during such a sad time.

Farewell Stitch, rest in the Carmel-by-the-Sea. Our thoughts are with your family.

The Facebook Announcement
The Facebook Announcement
Stitch on our Breed of the Week
Stitch on our Breed of the Week

5 thoughts on “This’n’That Thursday – Pampered pets, foxes and farewell Stitch

  1. Thank you so much for linking up to the TNT hop! I don’t think dressing up animals is akin to abuse. We put neoprene vests on our dogs during the waterfowl season when the water gets cold. Otherwise we don’t dress the dogs. I still don’t see it as abuse.

    Sorry to hear about Stitch. 😦

    • I don’t mind buying clothes for dogs that protect them against the elements. And the occasional cute jumper or halloween costume for some giggles. I would rather a dog was wearing a silly costume than being neglected.
      I’m pretty sure Winston will feel the same too 😉

  2. Finally got the courage to read this – thank you so much for the announcement! It’s been a month and a bit since Stitch’s passing and it still hurts! Feels funny coming home when only one of your furry ones is greeting you! And the other furry one is missing him, too! Sometimes she still sits by the window and waits even though all her humans are in the house! We take it in small steps – and with the help of this and other Frenchie blogs, we will get through this…when we are ready, we will consider another dog. And you will be one of the first ones to know 🙂

Leave a comment